Deep Calls to Deep

 

annie-edson-taylor.jpgannie-taylor-exiting-barrel-1.gif

Photo credit: NiagraFallsLive.  In 1901 Annie Taylor was the first person to go over Niagra Falls.

Recently I was reading Psalm 42, the subtitle of which is “Longing for God and His Help in Distress”.  Overall, the psalm is a picture of inundation of grief and despair, water imagery flowing throughout the course of the psalm.  What caught my eye was the use, in verse 7, of the word cataracts:

“Deep calls to deep
    at the thunder of your cataracts;
all your waves and your billows
    have gone over me.”  

Catarata is the Spanish word for waterfall, which is the old fashioned use of the word in the psalm in the English NRSV translation.

When the river is full, the deluge is constant, pounding, a cloudy curtain of water pouring unimpeded into the pool below,  spray rebounding forcefully.  When there’s a drought, the falls slow to a trickle.

How this is like a veil of tears, obscuring one’s ability to see, the lens of the eye dry and gritty, forming a cataract of sorrow.

Today, I have gone over the edge, albeit in a barrel, bouncing around up and down.  Psalm 42 ends with the refrain, “Hope in God: for I shall again praise him, my help and my God.”  I know this to be true.

Birthday Blessings to my baby sister MCVWasHere.  May this be your best year yet!

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “Deep Calls to Deep

  1. MCVwasHere

    This is crazy. My Bible study just took me to Psalm 42. Hmmmmm…

  2. Lisa

    Happy Birthday MCVwasHere. I loved this one ,MK. Such beautiful words. Sublime. 🙂

  3. Donna

    We just came home from a wine tasting and dinner…the first we have done in a year. Jimmy did really well. I cannot even go to the depth you are speaking of, because of wine consumption. As if we were at Sally and Mikes!
    It sounds like it has been a tumultuous day for you. There will be more of those, but there will be sweet days too. Gods Grace be with you.

  4. Carol

    Be grateful for the barrel…..there’s a good listener next door..

Leave a Reply

