Unconscious Coupling

Last week I had several incidents that showed me that the Benevolent Universe (i.e. the Holy Spirit) was on it’s game. The first incident involved license plates (again) and is the subject of a future blog post. All incidents happened in the span of less than an hour.

If you recall (and let’s face it, why would you?) I wrote a blog post earlier this year about a book entitled Anchored and mentioned the pillow Thing 1 was needlepointing for me, featuring an Anchor and the words “I Got This. God”. Here is a photo of the finished product:

 

thumbnail_IMG_4539.jpg

 

Last Saturday, Thing 3 and I headed to the AT&T store to investigate replacing her phone, which had been stolen the week before. As I was parking the car, I spotted my housepainter Ms. Sprite walking into Books A Million. I know about 5 people in my new home town of 87,000 and she is one of them.  I needed to discuss something with her so I followed her into the store and Thing 3 split off and went off to deal with her phone issue.

Searching the rows and rows of books, I could not find my friend.  I continued to the back of the store and, not seeing my Sprite, went to the little Christian gift section of the store. There I found this traveling coffee mug:

thumbnail_IMG_4544.jpg

Naturally, I had to have it.

Then I continued to search for Ms. Sprite, thinking perhaps she’d already left the store. But no, she was in a row behind me, looking for a book I’d recommended for her masseuse, The Passport to the National Parks. A spiral  bound book, one can paste stamps inside for every National Park visited in the United States. Arkansas has quite a few of them. If you are a collector, this is something fun and inexpensive to acquire. My cousin, Ms. Italian Villa, told me about this book this past summer.

Naturally, I had to have it.

I bought my book this summer at the Hot Springs, AR National Park.  Here is what it looks like:

 

thumbnail_IMG_4543.jpg

 

In addition to a share of a goat, one nephew is getting his passport, which I am going to purchase at my very handy local National Park. (First shopping suggestion).

But back to the mug. When I got home I thought to myself, “Who else had God spoken to this way? Let me see who makes this.” So I flipped the mug over. It was made (in China) by a Mary Square (of course).

thumbnail_IMG_4541.jpg

 

Hilarious! You can click on her website here. (Shopping suggestion #2) if you need a water bottle, bible binder, or backpack. 10% of every Mary Square purchase gives back to children needing school supplies.

After that, I  got to thinking, is this phrase part of the Collective Unconscious??? How many other objects are there with this saying on them? Had I seen this before?  Was this God or my own brain?

As it turns out, there are many many items with “I Got This. God” on them. A variation on the theme is “I’ve Got This. God”, the more grammatically correct version. God, however, did not use good grammar with me. Here is a pillow I found on Etsy with the saying, if you want your own. (Shopping suggestion #3).

 

il_570xN.583664207_6y8e.jpg

I had never seen the phrase before it popped into my mind last year, to my conscious knowledge.

So what’s up with that? Let’s discuss the cosmic mind meld!

Finally, I am off to Gentle Yoga*. Lord knows I cannot take any other kind.  Both Gwyneth Paltrow and Chris Martin would approve.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

* Shopping suggestion #4 – a gift certificate to your local yoga studio so somebody can go take a Christmas load off.

Shopping suggestion #5 – Kayla Aimee‘s book Anchored for anyone you know with a preemie in the hospital.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Unconscious Coupling

  1. Flaky friend

    Love you!

  2. raftbuddy

    What an awesome gift from Thing 1- love it and all the stories that go with it. I also love that funky Hot Springs National Park- it is one of our nation’s most unique!

  3. Pingback: Signs and Wonders | Memoirs of an Expat Princess

Leave a Reply

