Jackpot!

Still waiting …..

Mary didn’t appear yesterday but Jesus did in the form of the 5 Love Languages.  After I admonished a table full of men who professed to doing next to nothing for their wives, I advised them to read The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman.  One gentleman sheepishly admitted that his girlfriend of five years had given it to him – it was in his briefcase.

“Is this because she wants to move towards a more permanent relationship?” I inquired.

“Yes.”

“Then you should you read it before getting engaged,” I advised.

Aren’t I awful???

Another man confessed he had the book on his nightstand, along with a bunch of other books his wife gave him.  He proudly professed to being married 23 years.  I told him that if he wanted to be married for another 23 years, he’d best get to reading it.

Are I AWFUL???  And I wasn’t even drinking!

The man with the book in his briefcase chimed up, “It’s really not that bad a read.”

Finally, the man next to me said that although he never gives his wife gifts (she returns whatever he gets her), he did plan a surprise trip to Bali  for their 30th anniversary, adult kids in tow.  There they renewed their vows, administered by one of their children.

“Well, that counts.  Big time!  But I can help you with the gift thing.  I just hand Mr. Understanding a list of things I’d like, like a squirrel proof birdfeeder, and he has to go rustle it up.”  It’s a win-win.

Baby got game.

Herewith concludes Day 24?

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Charitable Endeavors, Friends, Holidays, Life, Mature

6 responses to “Jackpot!

  1. sallycalligan

    When it comes to conversation, you are never at a loss. I love the trick of going to a dinner party with 3 topics of conversation that many people can talk or be informed about. Who would have thought to bring up Love Languages with a table full of men.

  2. raftbuddy

    Well, maybe THAT was a Marian apparition for those men!!!!

  3. moodringmama

    I fully agree with the two above comments!

Leave a Reply

