Two Things I Love About Ohio – More to Follow

1)  The Columbus library system.  For the first time in 17 years, I checked out library books.  I did not need to provide a social security number or a photo ID, just a bill showing I lived where I live.   There was more than one color choice for the card and I scanned my own books out.  I am mid-way through the third book, Tracy Chevalier’s Burning Bright.  I also read Yann Martel’s Beatrice and Virgil – excellent.  Yann was an expat child, easy to surmise from the opening pages.  He was born in Spain.  Also, as mentioned on Facebook, I read Chris Pavone’s The Expats, a good book to discuss over coffee with other expats (there is a joke in there).

2) How friendly the folk are!  Did not encounter a single grump today, not even Thing 2.  Maybe Ohio is scrubbing off teen spirit?  Surly people are bad for my psyche.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “Two Things I Love About Ohio – More to Follow

  1. It makes me happy to know that you are happy:)

  2. I am with Heidi. Love you.

  3. flaky friend

    That is awesome! Welcome home.

  4. applesauce

    may we now call you re-pat?

Leave a Reply

