Chanel Chagrin

chaneljacket

Conversations with Mr. Understanding:

Me: What’s that you’ve got on your pants?

Him: What?

Me: That orange tag on your belt loop? Is that from the tintoreria*’s in Shanghai?

Him: You’ve got me. I can’t see it!

Me: Nice. I wonder what your co-workers thought of your date stamp?

Later that same day in our closet…..

Me: Well, I had a nice time at the Newcomer’s lunch today.

Him: Great! Meet your NBF?

Me (taking off Chanel-ish jacket from Shanghai fabric market and inspecting snags in fabric from hooks): Not likely. I just discovered the sewn-on tag from stall #342 right here on the front of my jacket. How many people do you think saw this? How many people do you think thought it was part of the jacket as I swanned around the luncheon? Hmmmmm??? I guess I owe you an apology.

Him: I guess you do.

Me (totally humiliated). Sorry.

Way to work it …. Good Lord.

*tintoreria = drycleaner’s

6 Comments

Filed under Fine Dining, Life

6 responses to “Chanel Chagrin

  1. 425Heidi

    I think you two just started a trend. The urban kids in the US do not cut off the price tags, so people can see how much they paid for their designer outfits. You were just showing off that you can afford to get your clothes drycleaned. I don’t see anything wrong with that.

  2. Mood Ring Mama

    That is cosmic payback, and it has happened to me. Like when I make fun of Bill for wearing a slightly mismatched pair of socks, and I later went to the gym wearing two totally different shoes. Always humbling.

  3. Sarah P

    Wanted to let you know I gave you a shout out on FB.

  4. 425Heidi: Thanks for the fashion tip. I feel so much better. You slay me ….

    MRM: Yes, as we have discussed, cosmic payback is a b*tch. Which is why, in my later years, I have really tried to think before speaking. Obviously, not all the time.

    Sarah Philippina: THANKS! I need all the help I can get.

  5. Flaky Friend

    I love that jacket!

Leave a Reply

