Ecosnobism & A Scavenger Hunt

In my last mail pouch I received a catalog from one of my favorite stores, Nordstrom’s. On page 15 a, there is a model with five different canvas totes draped all over her. One is Juicy Couture, one says “Green Is The New Black”, another has a peace sign and says “Give Green a Chance”. My least favorite says, in a fancy pink font, “I Might Like You Better If You Recycled.”

I recycle in a nation on non-recyclers. I have recycled since the mid-seventies. I have recycled on three continents. Most of the people I know recycle. My children and parents recycle. I believe in recycling. But that bag is just offensive to me even though I can’t really pinpoint why. If I saw someone carrying that bag I would be impelled to go up to them and say, “I might like you better if you didn’t carry such an obnoxious bag”. Readers, please chime in here with your thoughts.

A lot has happened since Easter. I actually do not know where to start. Friday night Mr. Understanding and I dined with a late night television talk show host and his wife. Our family was nearly wiped out by a pair of drunken ladies in a VW bug (major kudos to V3 for quick reflexes) on our way home from dinner last night. Thing 3’s “going away” party rounded out the weekend. Below is a list of items for the scavenger hunt. Her team found all the items!

1) MATCHBOX FROM M ON THE BUND RESTAURANT

2) BUSINESS CARD FROM XIANG YANG MARKET

3) DIARY OF A WIMPY KID BOOK

4) 5TH GRADE CLASS PHOTOGRAPH

5) CHOCOLATE EASTER EGG

6) GREAT WALL T-SHIRT

7) COUPON FOR PAPA JOHN’S PIZZA

8) SPANISH FLAG

9) CHINESE FLAG

10) PIGGY BANK

11) SAS HAT

12) BOARDING PASS STUB FROM DRAGON AIR

13) TROLL DOLL

14) SCHOOL YEARBOOK

15) YO-YO

16) FAMOUS PERSON’S AUTOGRAPH (the other team turned in James Blunt’s).

I have a lot to write about, I just need to find the time. Maybe on a plane?

5 Comments

Filed under Moving, Star Gazing

5 responses to “Ecosnobism & A Scavenger Hunt

  1. SarahP

    When are you getting on that “Big ole jet airliner?” Please let us know about dinner with Mr. and Mrs. Asia Uncut. I only know what I see on TV.

  2. Raftbuddy

    Agree on the bag issue, but then I have extremely low tolerance for stupid stuff like that. Glad V3 is such an awesome driver. Sounds like an amazing scavenger hunt!

  3. MCV

    100% agree on the bag thing. It put that in the equally as ridiculous and offensive category as people being completely flabbergasted when I tell them that I, a Republican, compost. I’d be willing to bet that people who have the money to buy these moronic bags are already recycling . . . or at least paying their household help to recycle.

  4. klab

    And it’s a thematic knock-off on the really COOL canvas bag (a copy of which I received from China last year,) entitled “I am not a plastic bag.”

    I like that better.

  5. SarahP: this weekend to Singapore, next week to Madrid, June to the US (but where I still don’t know yet). How about you?

    Raftbuddy: I am still laughing about “Raftbuddy on Raftbuddy”. Still loving your pearls?

    MCV: agreed!

    Klab: now I feel like a dork. I have only seen that bag in the PRC, the Anya Hindmarch jobber. I must hereby officially state I am truly out of touch with the US (even though Anya’s a Brit). I always thought the Chinese girls liked the bag because, even if it’s a fake, it is not a plastic bag, the most common transportation for personal items. The bag, to me, was an upgrade, not a political statement!!!! ARGH!

Leave a Reply

