Come to Jesus

The Shanghai Lows, as they are commonly referred to, have been held at bay this week by blue skies and holiday festivities. All except for one day when God and I had an all day long Come to Jesus talk, which hopefully he tuned out, like an obnoxious party guest. Bea Long might disagree with me on this point, but I think it’s okay to tell Him how disappointed I was; even King David beat his chest in angst at times, albeit over bigger issues. We had been praying for a miracle, a big fat one. We got a mini one instead. I was hoping the Radish was going to blog about it but it seems I have beat her to the punch. MCV’s two year old, Teddy Bear, was diagnosed earlier in the week with a mild case of osteogenesis imperfecta, the street name of which is brittle bone disease, a subject for another day. In a strange twist of fate, Teddy Bear’s doctor is a member of the professional advisory board to the National Marfan Foundation so we recognized and knew he was in good hands, God’s hands. But I was angry and sad for a day because really, how many genetic glitches can one family suffer? I was told by my Thing 1’s doctor that these genetic conditions are unrelated and that while most families have rare conditions lurking in their genes, in both instances these cases were spontaneous. Mrs. O’Leary reminded me of how much she admired Rose Kennedy for not losing her faith in the face of so much tragedy, for not losing it when the darkness overwhelmed. In our case, our children have been blessed with access to the world’s best doctors, which is light enough for right now. Shed some light and say a prayer right now for the children living in Africa. You don’t even need to target a country, covering the continent will do.

*************************************************

I am not a PTA mother. I eschew the PTA. I eschew it’s politics. But guilt got the better of me and I volunteered at school for Santa’s workshop, running the cash box. The PTSA, as it is now called, holds a Christmas bazaar at school so the children can shop for their family members and domestic helpers. The gifts range in price from $1.50 to $8.00 USD, most of which is junk, truth be told. But I loved seeing what the children bought, especially the ones from my neighborhood. Boxed sets of ties and cufflinks were popular. One little boy had several gifts for his ayi and one little candle for his mother. When asked by a cashier why the gift for his ayi was more …. substantial than the one for his mother, the young shopper in question answered, “Well, she takes care of me.” It seemed he had his priorities in order.

Mr. Understanding and I trekked back to the school later in the week for our last elementary Christmas program as parents to watch Thing 3 play the trumpet. Even though she was a sporadic practicer, we did not hear any false notes from the horn section. I think my baby turning 10 might be harder than her turning 5. The hormones will be kicking in soon and then I will be living in Teenage Hell for a few years, which will be the real test of my faith.

Check back tomorrow. I am writing a separate post about Thursday night’s ornament exchange. Photos to accompany.

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, People, Religion

4 responses to “Come to Jesus

  1. Raftbuddy

    So sorry about Teddy Bear, and so thankful for all of the amazing doctors that are out there to help. Love to all of you.

  2. Thank you, Raftbuddy. I owe you an email. Looking forward, as always, to this year’s card!!!! You do care enough to send the very best!

  3. Thank you princess, my love to you.

  4. gamamae

    Fofa- Q noticia Desagradavel! I’m so sorry to hear of this. Por favor saiba que ele e sua familia estão nos meus pensamento- mais do que ussually! How great he has the docs he has- that you all know and trust.
    O que eu puder fazer- let me know. Beijocas e abraços bem fortes! M

Leave a Reply

