To be continued . . . (?)

That’s what the signs say, To Be Continued, as you wind around the Shanghai History Museums’ lifesize historical dioramas of Shanghai under the Oriental Pearl Towers. Continue This Way is what the signs mean, urging tourists through the museum. After first ascending into the two globes of the Pearl Tower , we ate dinner in the revolving restaurant on the lower globe. The buffet items were cold, the atmosphere sterile, but the view was spectacular, especially when the lights of the city came on. This is our 6th high rise rotating restaurant in as many months but the least appetizing; the Space Needle still takes the prize.

That sign is really my state of mind at the moment. To continue the blog or desist? Currently, I am relying on the good graces of my youngest sister to upload my posts when she has a spare minute; it is just one more thing a young mother of toddlers really doesn’t need on her plate. Thing 1 urges me to return my energies to the stalled Brazilian project. There is a prevailing urge to sit on my everwidening ass and needlepoint Thing 3’s Christmas stocking, mindlessly poking a needle in and out of canvas as I catch up on American TV shows of the last decade via Chinese DVDs. Even better, what about organizing the sh*thole that is my office area on the fourth floor? Getting a personal trainer and losing 40 lbs? Trying to learning a little Mandarin? Sharpening my knives for the Radish’s visit in March? The possibilities are endless.

Tomorrow we leave for 5 days in Honkers where I am going to ponder this issue between 400 thread count sheets, sips of champagne, and trips to Stanley Market. I hear it is easier to blog from there so checking my blog traffic, something I have not done in months, might help me make the decision. While 90 percent of the expat community has fled to foreign destinations or their homeland, we resolutely stuck out Christmas in China with Ms. Duke and had a lovely time. Having said that, it will be nice to get away from Stinky Glama Villa where the circuit breaker cut off twice today and the garage door had to be fixed at 8:30 p.m. last night.

In closing, I would like to thank my readers for sticking it out with me this year. I have completed my goal and appeased my mother. Time will tell if this exercise has been my therapy or just a really crazy chronicle of a year in our life on the road. Your comments have been the best, full of memories, insights, and cheer. Who knows, Mr. Understanding might get a published copy of it for bathroom reading next year for Christmas. Hang on a minute, let me put that on my list right now …

May the peace of the Lord be with you in 2008.

9 Comments

Filed under Life

9 responses to “To be continued . . . (?)

  1. Mood Ring Momma

    HAPPY NEW YEAR EXPAT & FAMILY!

  2. Mood Ring Momma

    I wasn’t finished with my comment . . . Anyway, I was going to say, I really hope you have it in you to continue your blog. It is a genuine highlight of my day when I check to see if there is a new post or comment. Love you, and have a great trip.

  3. SarahP

    MK – I would like to encourage you to keep this up. I truly enjoy checking your blog everyday and keeping up with what is going on in your life. Hope to see you in Asia soon.

  4. 425Heidi

    What??!! The stink in Glama Villa must be getting to you. Please continue the blog. Your life is so much fun to read about! In fact, your last post (Santa and Rosa Parks) was a topic of discussion at Mood Ring Momma’s New Year’s bash. I hope the time away clears your mind and gets it ready for a year of blogging. Happy New Year!

  5. Flaky Friend

    Please continue – it really is something I look forward to reading and a good way to stay in touch. Your life is fascinating and I want to keep hearing about it. Have fun on vacation. Where is Honkers?

  6. You did what I told you to do. And quite frankly I am impressed with my clarity for telling you what to do.

    If you are fishing for compliments, okay I will give you two. You are a very good writer. You have excellent command of the english language. You have over the top interesting stories. And you give the rest of us food for thought. Did you ever get that link that a writer sent to me for online writing? You could try to organize this into a book. I do not hold as much accolades for your fiction. The fact of the matter is, you are an essay writer. You like a topic which you can run with, let it ruminate and bring it back full circle. I have loved your blog. You are just getting warmed up. Print yours out into a book. You will see how far you have come. Love to You.

    You have gone far longer than most people.
    And yes, you can quit.

  7. Klab

    No! Don’t stop! It’s the next best thing to boogie-chat all year long. [which — MCV — that was a good one last night]

    Happy new year!! – K

  8. Okay, okay, at least for this week since I can post on my own – HOORAY! There is so much to write about! Thank you, ladies, all of you.

  9. maria

    OK ….if you still need to hear…Continue com 0 Blog.Vamos Animar minha amiga!

Leave a Reply

