U & Me

Five minutes ago, at 8:30 in the morning, a team of 3 Chinese men came back to move an armoire the rest of the way up the stairs. I sent them away last night at 7:00 p.m. because they needed an extra hand. They argued with me but I prevailed, shutting the door firmly in their faces. I did not need a death by armoire in my house. Things 1 and 3 left the room they were so scared. It took 3 of them to get the damn thing out of the house and I felt sure someone was going to get killed then. I assumed they would bring more men to carry the refurbished piece up the stairs. But as Mr. Understanding likes to remind me, “When you assume, you make an ass out of u and me.” The walls are gouged yet again, the armoire has another scratch but it is back in my bedroom, this week’s 2nd Pyrrhic victory. Will I ever learn?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Misunderstandings, Moving

2 responses to “U & Me

  1. Dunmovin

    Well, well, well . . . so this is what you’ve been up to! No wonder you have no more time or energy, you’re writing a book (or two, that is, if you’re still writing the other one). I can’t stop laughing. And if it makes you feel any better, my two-year-old, American-made dishwasher is on the blink. I was just on hold for 25 minutes and when the guy finally took my call he may as well have been speaking Chinese (“wahzyazip?”). I made him repeat it 3 times. Though I haven’t packed up my family in three years now (the only reason I’m getting anything done), I still feel your pain! Sending you Moses’ love . . . Mare

  2. Oy Vey! Dunmovin, I just finished reading (not writing) the book of Job. Pain was a concept with which he was familiar! Happy Roshashana (sp?)! Are you gearing up for Purim?

Leave a Reply

