I Have an Army

When I was in high school I took a (free) Army aptitude test. The only thing it determined I was qualified for was general. Since I share my birthday with former President and General Dwight D. Eisenhower, I laughed and took it in stride. This meant that I was not qualified for grunt work, Morse code signaling, and Jeep mechanics but was good at bossing others. This is not news to those who know me. I took the same test the following year with the same results.

Tomorrow is D Day here at my house on Alameda das Laranjeiras. Seven men will be storming the house, moving items into a container and packing the final bits. My head is pounding so hard I am afraid to have a whiskey and have been on the verge of tears all day. Mr. Understanding is due in town in a few short hours; he undergoes arthroscopic surgery on Wednesday to repair his shoulder (we like to pack it all in). And, I could use a bath.

I am not remotely qualified to be general. Dwight had it all going on.

7 Comments

Filed under Moving

7 responses to “I Have an Army

  1. Pvt. MCS

    “I am not remotely qualified to be general. ” – This is the most untrue sentence you’ve ever written. Dwight has nothing on you. Now take a bath, have a whiskey, and shed a tear or two if need be. Then wake up, pull it together, and boss in your most strident bossy boss voice — “CHARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGEEE!”

  2. maria

    As I told you yesterday,August will be completely diferent this year and my tears will come when I realize my best friend is not coming back from summer holidays as always…

  3. MCV

    Sister, I’ve been thinking about you LOTS knowing that these days of hell and change are upon you. However, if anyone can do go through it and come out looking like a rose (or did I mean general?), it’s you! And don’t think that Dwight didn’t have a meltdown or two. And he certainly didn’t pass on the whiskey . . . or so I think. LOVE YOU!

  4. Like your sisters I have been thinking about you nearly all day yesterday, although I did go to my new hair guru. Some of life is hard, but that doesn’t mean you are not a general. Admittedly it does get a ittle hard doing everyones’s thinking for them.

    Your aunt is thinking about you.

    You will know that you are a general when I tell you to sit down for a while when you get to the states, and you refuse. But let some of the dust collect when you get here. Bored is good sometimes. XXXXOOOOOXXXXX Mother

  5. Winnie

    Wise words from your mother and siblings and , from your MIL, “Ditto”!!!

  6. Thanks for the vote of confidence. Ike is one of my heroes. Believe me when I say I know it could be way worse.

  7. Laura

    Keep it together, Princess. We Ex-pats need you to show the flag for our kind.

Leave a Reply

