Dim Sum Yum Yum

OK, so we did not really have just dim sum. We had a variety of dishes. Ai Lin sent me and Mr. U with our relocation agent to a noodle house in the new neighborhood to be. While we waited for Mr. Understanding to show up for lunch, we had plenty of time to peruse the extensive menu. I cannot emphasize enough how thankful I was for the English subtitles and the photos. Reading the menu and examining the photos nearly made me swoon (you know I´m allergic to seafood and entrails).

Here is what we did NOT have for lunch:

Sichuan Deep Fried Spicy Bullfrog
Deep Fried Duckhead
Stewed Abalone with Goose Feet
Ox Stomach in Special Sauce
Duck Tongue in Rice Wine Sauce

For dessert, there was also a Healthy Sweet Soup of Stewed Frog´s Ovary in Paw Paw Cup (papaya). I asked Mindy, the relocation agent, what type of person ate such a slenderizing delicacy. She told me women from Hong Kong like to eat it because they think it is good for their skin. (I´d rather slather on some Estee Lauder skin caviar myself, but that´s neither here nor there.) Later, I looked over my shoulder to see three young women digging into their paw paws.

In a somewhat related note, yesterday I went to the dog and cat kennel. Yes, there is one, and it was full of pets, not appetizers. Although, come to think of it, there was a daily special written on a blackboard …. But I would keep my pets there – the girl who showed me around even spoke English.

NB: I cannot currently access blog so my comments will have to wait until I am back at Heathrow. That is, if I am not stocking up on all the things I forgot the first time around.

5 Comments

Filed under Fine Dining, Life, People, Travel

5 responses to “Dim Sum Yum Yum

  1. Angela

    Wow, sounds like quite the adventure, I can’t wait to talk to you about it! By the way Shub will be in Brazil next Tuesday(5-22) for 10 days. Hopefully you can meet up with him!

  2. Princess, thanks for the blog. But I actually would try some of that stuff. Deep fried bullfrog could be good. I am not sure about the goose feet. Love, the radish

  3. Radish:

    I may have to eat at a separate table from you when you come to visit. As you know, I have still not recovered from the duck trauma in 4th grade.

    SmartalecAngela:

    Would Shub be interested in packing some boxes? I’ll have a package ready for him to deliver to you!

  4. Angela

    I’m sure he could be persuaded!

  5. MCV

    I consider myself a fairly adventurous eater, but I wouldn’t touch any of those outlined above.

Leave a Reply

