A Tisket, A Tasket – Pole Dancing and All That

mayday.jpg

A green and yellow basket.
I wrote a letter to my love
and on the way I lost it.

When I was a child, my mother taught me to make little baskets of flowers, filched from our garden or the side of the road, to take to the neighbors on May 1. My sister and I would leave the flowers on the neighbors doorstep, ring the doorbell, and run away. A charming tradition for those who have no handy May poles to dance around in white dresses. For today, just locating my passport and yellow fever vaccination card will have to do.

Yes, I am losing it. Big time. The wheels are coming off the buggy, albeit slowly; signs of an impending monumental life change are beginning to crop up, like an unwanted blemish and a curling iron burn right before the prom. There is no exercising going on, besides wagging a tongue, and I can barely stop for that. Cracks in my otherwise serene exterior are beginning to form like a foundation poured with Mexican cement. I feel like a pilot who has just lost an engine …. May Day, May Day! It is just at this moment that I am leaving to househunt in Asia for 10 days. Ah, but first things first ….

Tomorrow I go to get a document notarized at the consulate and to see if our dear faxineira Nilda can get a tourist visa. My hopes are not high for the latter but that I’ve slotted in the “Out of My Control” category on my to do list. On Thursday I leave to find the house of my dreams. Most of the houses I have seen on the internet are fully furnished and decorated in a style reminiscent of the Starwood hotel chain – what the Chinese think Americans will want. The only redeeming factor of flying for 24 hours will be the warmed, salted nuts served with champagne, the opportunity to lie down should I so choose, and quality time with myself to read about the parenting of teenagers and perhaps a Hello! magazine.

Those in Latin America have surely enjoyed a lovely holiday today. But for those in the US, I hope your pole dance didn’t get rained out and that someone dropped by a basket of flowers, fresh from your neighbor’s garden.

6 Comments

Filed under Luggage, People, Princessdom, Reading, Travel

6 responses to “A Tisket, A Tasket – Pole Dancing and All That

  1. Heidi

    I haven’t found any flowers on my doorstep, so it looks like your sisters are not keeping up the tradition. But now that I know that your family celebrates May Day, I may offer MCS some wine and see if it leads to a pole dance in the cul-de-sac. Good luck with the house hunting!

  2. Margaret - The other one

    Very funny Heidi! M-K – Great blog. I had forgotten that we filched and delivered flowers. Next year it’s on my calendar. Tried to call again this a.m., but you must be at consulate. If I don’t talk before you go, travel safely and enjoy the experience. Please don’t come home without souvenirs either. 🙂

  3. gamamãe

    Did you also wassail at Christmas? Frolick on St. Paddys and perambulated on Easter??

  4. To gamamae, yes we did all of those, each in their own way.

    Princess, MCV wants sun glasses, well, maybe it is her sister.

    I hope that you can take your notebook.

    Flowers on May Day is something my Mother had me do. but it was common. I do not think I every got any flowers other than the ones my children picked from my yard.

  5. Margaret - The other one

    Yes, if I could get a couple of pairs of Chanel or Coach sunglasses, I’ll of course pay. Must look stylish for Chelan and the reunion.

  6. Raftbuddy

    What is a faxineira? I could google it, but I am too lazy. I spent May Day in Washington with a couple of girlfriends about a half hour across the Columbia River at a Lilac Garden. I came home with a giant bouquet of lilacs for my table. I am too stingy to give them away!

Leave a Reply

