Abacaxi com Hortelã

abacaxi.jpgAbacaxi (ah-ba-cah-shi) = pineapple.
hortela.jpgHortelã (or-te-lah) = mint.

I had been here about three years before I tried this juice, pineapple with mint. I guess I was not paying attention to what everyone else was drinking besides beer and caipirinhas. Recipe: cut up a pineapple and put it in a blender; add some water; throw in some fresh mint; blend until mint is teeny tiny. Drink! This is one of my favorite beverages of all time. Talk about your antioxidants. You can even use pineapple that is slightly past its prime. Buddy has a mint garden in the windowbox outside his bedroom so we get it for free, even though he would like to charge us. Our garden has a lot of goodies but pineapples aren’t one of them. Those I (Ana Maria the housekeeper!) purchase at the local fruit stand.

11 Comments

Filed under Fine Dining, Princessdom

11 responses to “Abacaxi com Hortelã

  1. Meredith

    Wait a minute . . . I recognize that pineapple. You’re OUT!

  2. missionary girl

    Could I be more jealous!!!!!!! I want pineapple! I want fresh herbs!!! I want warm weather!!! Kids had a two hour delay for school today because of ice on the roads.

  3. Expat:
    That sounds so yummy. I will probably drink it all summer with my grilled fish and veggies.

  4. MG, are you sure you would like to experience hot flashes the live long day? The weather is a prelude to menopause … que calor!

  5. Leezer,
    Not at my house you won’t! You’ll be having it with Grandmere’s pulled pork sandwiches, potato salad, and cole slaw.

  6. gamamãe

    It is one of the best refreshing juices you may try- ever. Please use fresh or frozen pinapple( sometimes easier to find in the colder months and in northern reagions of the U.S.).NEVER canned. Another one to try – watermelon and carrots- seriosuly. It is supposed to also help with times when a person may be puffy/retaining water.

  7. Thanks Leezer for the pulled pork compliment.

  8. Laura

    I have fresh mint growing out of our kitchen door, and can usually get decent pineapple, so I will try. Thanks for the suggestion, but I am actually having dreams about the cajú juice I can get at the juice stand at the corner of Visconde de Pirajá and María Quiteira, a few blocks from where I think we will be staying in Rio. Will explain all of that on a separate e-mail.

    So, you are bringing your carnaval costumes to Rio for our Easter get-together, right?

  9. HA! No, not bringing the costumes – just the photos. I need to know how you got that accent over your vowels – cannot find it on the keyboard. I hear that caipirinhas with caju juice and strawberry are good. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

